top of page


ALL-TIME RECORD: South leads 20-19-2

2022 - North 21, South 16

Quarterback Cael Zebrowski (Verona) would find Nick Dunneman (Seton Hall Prep) on a 50-yard bomb to bring the North to the South 10-yard line on the ensuing drive. Two plays later, Zebrowski found Dominick Verducci (Parsippany Hills) for a score on a screen pass, extending the edge to 21-10. South fought back. With 2:14 left, Cole Kozlowski (Manasquan) would catch a touchdown pass of 16-yards from Matt Welsey (Shawnee) to cut the South’s deficit to 21-16 after a failed two-point attempt. The South would get one more chance to take the lead, but Rahway’s Zaon Laney intercepted a pass to seal the victory for the North.

Full story   Will Harrigan | For NJ Advance Media

2020 and 2021 - Canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic
2019 - North 24, South 23
Azhuan Dingle (Bayonne) scored the winning touchdown late in the 4th quarter to lead an epic comeback. The South, led by quarterback Prince Dru-Bey (Winslow), missed a 25-yard field goal as time expired. 
2018 - South 38, North 16
Ashante Worthy (Freehold Boro) leads the offensive attack with a pair of touchdowns. 
2017 - South 30, North 22
Darrion Carrington (Toms River North) and Nasir Streater (Camden Catholic) lead the South to victory.
2016 - North 7, South 0
Zach Keller (Seton Hall Prep) connects with Mike Pimpinella (Pascack Valley) for the lone score. 
2014 - South 20, North 14
Chris Noesges (Manalapan) and John Chamberlain (Williamstown) do their part to secure the South's victory. 
2012 - North 14, South 7
Elizabeth's Elijah Hughes scores the winning touchdown; Tyler Condit (Caldwell) paces the defense. 
2010 - North 17 South 14
Gavin McCamey (Jefferson) reaches Eddie Demarchi (Butler) for a stellar 31-yard touchdown pass.
2008 - North 35, South 32
Anthony Baskerville (Newark West Side) runs for, throws, and catches a touchdown pass in the victory.
2006 - North 31, South 14
Donald Jones (Plainfield) leads the way for the North with 173 receiving yards and a touchdown.
2004 - North 26, South 21
Dan Orio (Eastern) ran for two of the South's touchdowns and passed for one in the loss.
2002 - No Game! 
Heavy rain and lightning force the first (and to date only) weather-related cancellation. 
2000 - South 20, North 5
Venba Bukula (Manchester Twp.) leads the way for the South with 133 rushing yards and a touchdown.
1998 - North 33, South 31
Hank Trogani (Pope John), Antonio Garay (Rahway), and Greg White (Shabazz) lead the way to victory. 
1996 - South 32, North 23
Kevin Harvey (Paulsboro) returns a punt 80 yards to the house and scores the final touchdown in the 4th.
1994 - South 21, North 16
Derek Carter (Dunellen) leads the South with 121 rushing yards and scores the Classic-winning touchdown.
1992 - North 7, South 7
A late Travis Muckle (Indian Hills) touchdown pass to Jason Curry (Montclair) ties the score; Phil Cox's (Hunterdon Central) interception keeps the tie. 
1990 - North 14, South 10
Tom Dudley (Shabazz) and Nikki Kemp (Montclair) lead the way over Keith Elias (Lacey) and Doug Burnett (Highland Park). 
1988 - South 12, North 9
Efrain Cabrera (Keyport) and Joe Kugelman (North Hunterdon) lead the South its first victory in five years.
1986 - North 20, South 17
In a tight game down to the wire, Sterling Henton (Passaic) scores the winning touchdown with 29 seconds left.
1984 - North 7, South 0
Craig "Iron Head" Heyward (Passaic) scores the game's lone touchdown for the North.
2015 - South 23, North 21
Matt Castranova (Jackson Memorial) returns a second half kickoff 102 yards to highlight the South's win.
2013 - North 54, South 8
PJ Walker (Elizabeth), Justin Goodwin (Madison), and Akrum Wadley (Weequahic) lead the historic North victory.
2011 - South 21, North 14
Jared Sanchez (Hammonton) returns an interception 85 yards for the winning score. 
2009 - South 14, North 7
Nick Tyson (Freehold Boro) connects with Dan Cintron (Barnegat) for the winning score. 
2007 - South 21, North 14
Brett Scott (Triton) scores the winning touchdown for the South in the 4th quarter.
2005 - North 9, South 7
Tim Diamond (Lakeland) kicks the winning field goal and Chet Parlavecchio (Delbarton) causes a strip/sack to preserve victory.
2003 - South 3, North 0
Ryan Brand (Marlboro) kicks a 36-yard field goal to score the Classic's only points as time runs out. 
2001 - North 24, South 0
Kaliym Hazel (Hackensack) scores three touchdowns en route to the North's blowout win.
1999 - South 22, North 19
Ted Trump (Delran) throws three touchdown passes, two to Keith Hemmings (Woodbridge), to "trump" the North. 
1997 - South 28, North 24
Dennis Thomas (Salem) gets in the end zone late to seal the victory for the South.
1995 - North 37, South 15
Dan Madine (Butler) and Rashidi Brown (Hackensack) lead the North's scoring barrage in an offensive explosion.
1993 - South 9, North 8
Quarterback David Cerchio (Middletown South connects with wide receiver Sekule Milich (Somerville) for the winning score. 
1991 - North 26, South 12
Anthony Pignio (New Providence) does it all for the North with a touchdown run, field goal, extra point, and two-point conversion in the victory.
1989 - South 24, North 0
Shawn Smith (Buena), Craig Mitter (Matawan), Glenn Foley (Cherry Hill), and Brian Fortay (East Brunswick) star in the smackdown.
1987 - North 21, South 10
Quarterbacks Mike Milne (Hoboken) and Brian Satola (St. Joe's) lead the North to a comeback win after falling behind 10-0.
1985 - North 10, South 10
The Classic's first tie is a game dominated by defensive standouts Rob McGovern (Bergen Catholic), Quintus McDonald (Montclair), and Ned Bolcar (Phillipsburg).
1983 - South 41, North 7
Vernon Boyd (Camden) makes it three in a row for the South with three of his own touchdowns.
1982 - South 16, North 7
Bill Hunt (Collingswood) goes long to Greg Godsnell (Moorestown) on a 53-yard touchdown pass. 
1981 - South 32, North 0
Ryan Varga (N. Edison) starts the rout with a 40-yard field goal and the South earns the first shutout.
1980 - North 13, South 6
Mark Stevens (Passaic) connects on the winning touchdown pass to Marc Hackett (Montclair) for the first North win.
1979 - South 34, North 13
Joe Fischer (East Brunswick) scores the first touchdown on an 18-yard pass from Mark Pappas (Highland Park).
bottom of page