top of page

Game MVP Award

Dave Szott Award -
North Offensive MVP

2023- Van Weber, Rutherford HS

2022- Raeden Oliver, East Orange Campus

2018- Andrew Luehs,  Verona HS

Jim Burt Award -
North Defensive MVP

2023- Jordan McAllister, Seton Hall Prep

2022- Dashawn Lawson, Newark West Side

2018- Nasir Givens, Orange HS

Joe Theismann Award - South Offensive MVP

2023- Aaron Young, Burlington City

2022- Cole Kozlowski, Manasquan

2018- Nashir Morgan, Atlantic City HS

Jim Jeffcoat Award -
South Defensive  MVP

2023- Zahir Davis, Oakcrest HS

2022- David Onuaha, Matawan

2018- Ji'Ayir Brown, Trenton HS


Ray McCrann Lifetime Achievement Award 


By his own admission, Ray McCrann was a “football lifer”. As a young boy growing up in western New Jersey, he fell in love with the game and continued to grow and maintain that passion throughout his life. To some in the stands, the mark of a coach is projected on the scoreboard every Friday night or checked in the left column of the standings at the end of the season.  For others, they know the true value of the men who patrol the sidelines and immerse themselves in the sport is not measured in wins or defeats but rather in the growth of the young men they have had the honor and pleasure to coach. Ten, fifteen, twenty years after the games are over, the equipment put away and the lights turned out, what has been the coach’s impact on the lives of these young men?

Coach McCrann’s impact on the game and the players who played it transcended far beyond the gridiron. The New Jersey State Coaches Association Hall of Fame member was known as a competitive, demanding taskmaster when coaching. Off the field, Coach McCrann would light up the room with his bright smile and endless energy. He was known as a great teacher, a positive influence, and a person who made others feel welcome. As a North-South All-Star Game Executive Committee member for over two decades Coach McCrann helped grow this great game into the event it is today. Coach McCrann is perhaps best known for his time at Passaic High School where he was part of three state championships and had the pleasure of coaching terrific athletes including Craig “IronHead” Heyward.

Coach McCrann left this world in 2016. To honor his memory and in appreciation and recognition for the difference he made in the lives of New Jersey high school football players, the Executive Committee of the Phil Simms New Jersey North-South All-Star Football Classic has decided to recognize fellow legendary coaches who, like Coach McCrann, have coached to the highest ideals of the game, instilling values in their players and coaches and leading them to success on the field, in the classroom, in the community, and in their lives.

Ray McCrann Award Winners

2023 - Gerry Gallagher  (Delbarton)

2023 - Joe Frappolli (Florence)

2022 - Joe Policastro (Highland Park)

2022 - Drew Gibbs (Ramapo)

2019 - Fred Stengel (Bergen Catholic)

2019 -  Paul Sacco (St. Joseph)

2018 -  Don Smolyn (Lenape Valley)

2018 -  Lou Vircillo (Lacey)

2017 -  Greg Toal (Don Bosco)

2017 -  Joe Martucci (Matawan)


bottom of page